Follow by Email


Submit e-mail address above to subscribe for updates to this page.

Scholarship Opportunities

Subscribe or continue checking as new opportunities are posted as they become available!

Thursday, 12 March 2020

Manitoba Young Liberals Scholarship
Information Sheet
2020/2021 Academic Year

Ø The Manitoba Young Liberal Scholarships are open to youth aged 16 to 25 who are entering, or are currently enrolled in, a Manitoba post-secondary institution.

1. A completed application form - click here.
2. A written essay
Ø The essay should discuss the applicant’s vision for the future of Manitoba, and answer the question, “If you were elected Premier of Manitoba, what would you do?”
Ø Additional essay requirements: 1000 word maximum, word processed, double spaced, 12-point font (Arial or Times New Roman)

Ø Three (3) scholarships each worth $500

Ø One $500 scholarship will be awarded to a student from Winnipeg
Ø One $500 scholarship will be awarded to a student from outside of Winnipeg
Ø One $500 scholarship will be awarded to an Indigenous student
Ø Winners will be announced in June, 2020. Winners must agree to have their photo taken with the certificate and allow this picture to be published, both printed and electronically.

Ø All scholarship applications must be received by May 15, 2020
Ø Applications may be submitted by email to or may be mailed to:

Manitoba Young Liberals Scholarship
c/o Manitoba Liberal Party
635 Broadway
Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3C 0X1

Questions? Email us at

Thursday, 27 February 2020

Manitoba High School Athletics Association

Scholarship Applications and Deadlines:

Alexander Josephson Memorial Scholarship: April 1, 2020

The Alexander Josephson Memorial Scholarship is awarded in honor of Alexander Josephson, a student and hockey player at St. John’s Ravenscourt School, who tragically passed away in a car accident in 2005. He was a member of the 2003 Provincial Championship Team and selected as a Provincial All-Star. The recipient of this scholarship is a player who demonstrates strong leadership and team play, high scholastic standing, a hard-working attitude, and is proceeding to a post secondary education. A male and female hockey player will each receive a $2,000 scholarship.

D’Arcy Bain/Fred Stevenson Award: April 1, 2020

The D’Arcy Bain/Fred Stevenson Award is named in honour of long time hockey coach Fred Stevenson of St. John’s Ravenscourt. The $750 Scholarship is sponsored by local Physiotherapist D’Arcy Bain.

Ken 'Friar' Nicolson Award: April 1, 2020

The Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame is the sponsor of the Ken 'Friar' Nicolson Award. This award is named in honour of long-time CJOB radio Winnipeg Jets play-by-play broadcaster Ken Nicolson. Ken was a tremendous supporter of high school hockey and served on the organization committee for the first two Provincial High School Championships. The Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame presents a $1,000 scholarship to a high school hockey player who is recognized for a combination of excellence in athletics, academics, and community service.

McDonald's Leadership Award: April 13, 2020

The McDonald's Leadership Award is awarded to 16 students (eight boys and eight girls) annually who demontrate exceptional leadership in high school sport, school, and community involvement while also maintaining a minimum of 75% average.
McDonald's awards each recipient a $1,000 scholarship.

Sami-Jo Small Award: April 1, 2020

Sami-Jo Small was a tremendous athlete in high school and represented Canada at three Olympic Games, in two of which, Team Canada won gold. She was also a member of five World Championship winning teams for Canada and was MHSAA Athlete of the Year and Scholar/Athlete Award winner in 1994, while attending College Jeanne Sauve. The Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame presents the Sami Jo Small Award, a $1,000 scholarship to a female high school hockey player who is recognized for a combination of excellence in athletics, academics, and community service.

Winnipeg Jets Alumni and Friends Hockey Scholarships: April 1, 2020

Presented to one male and one female graduating high school hockey player – a $2,500 scholarship to be used towards post secondary education. The criteria for this award includes a person’s on-ice skills and achievements, as well as off-ice activities including: leadership in school and community, participation in school and community activities. Applications are evaluated by a committee made up of retired NHL players.